Taken By Surprise With A Reckless Driving Ticket?
Many people do not realize that in Virginia, simply speeding can result in a reckless driving charge and demerit points on their driving records. Generally, if a driver is going 20 mph over the speed limit or any speed over 80 mph, it is considered reckless driving.
If you have been charged with reckless driving, we will aggressively pursue the best outcome for your unique situation. While you may not think you need a lawyer for a traffic violation like reckless driving, hiring a knowledgeable attorney can make a significant difference in the penalties you receive. We will provide personal one-on-one attention and address all of your concerns. We will personally handle your case from beginning to end, rather than delegating your case to a less experienced attorney
How Reckless Driving Can Impact You
Reckless driving is a class one misdemeanor in Virginia. Conviction on a reckless driving charge can potentially result in jail time and may affect a driver’s auto insurance rates, background checks for employment and military security clearances. Additionally, many drivers convicted of reckless driving lose their driver’s licenses for a period of time and receive points on their driving records.
If you have been charged with reckless driving, typically, you will be required to appear in court, even if you are from out of state. If you hire an attorney, however, you may not have to be present for the court hearing.
Reduce Your Reckless Driving Ticket
At The Collins Law Firm, P.C., we are known for our work in the area of traffic violations. Let us put our experience and knowledge to work for you. Call 757-818-9539 or contact us online to schedule a free initial consultation with one of our experienced Virginia Beach lawyers to discuss your reckless driving charge.
We serve clients throughout Virginia Beach, Chesapeake, Portsmouth and surrounding communities.