The Collins Law Firm, P.C.
Schedule A Free Consultation Today Call: 757-818-9539

What are the penalties for underage drinking and driving?


As a new school year begins in Virginia, teens will be reunited with friends and perhaps be together at social events or other locations where alcohol might be available. This might lead to the temptation to drink while under the legal age to do so. In some instances, an accident or a traffic stop may occur leading to allegations of underage drinking and driving. Those who find themselves in position need to understand the law so that they can craft a criminal defense that best protects them.

People under 21 are not allowed to drive after having consumed alcohol regardless of the level of alcohol present in their bloodstream. This is because a person under 21 is not supposed to be drinking in the first place. If there is a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.02 percent or more in the system, it will be a violation. This is a Class 1 misdemeanor. Class 1 misdemeanors carry with them the potential penalties of jail for up to one year, a fine of up to $2,500, or both.

There are other penalties that a juvenile can face if they are convicted. A minor who is convicted of this offense will forfeit his or her driver's license for one year from the date of conviction. There will also be a minimum fine of $500 or the requirement to perform at least 50 hours of community service. The penalized individual might be allowed to take part in an Alcohol Safety Action Program as part of probation and could receive a restricted license while the driver's license is suspended.

Being convicted of underage drinking and driving can have long-term consequences of which juveniles must be aware. With so much at stake, it is important that juveniles who are accused of this offense have full protection under the law with help from a defense attorney experienced with cases involving underage drinking and driving.

Source: " 18.2-266.1. Persons under age 21 driving after illegally consuming alcohol; penalty.," accessed on Sept. 10, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Contact Us For A Free Consultation Today!

To arrange a free initial consultation with our experienced Virginia lawyers, contact The Collins Law Firm, P.C., at 757-818-9539. You may also complete our online form, and we will be in touch with you shortly.

Contact Us Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

The Collins Law Firm, P.C. Call Today: 757-818-9539 Fax: 757-483-6684

Portsmouth, VA
5709 Churchland Blvd., Suite A
Portsmouth, VA 23703

Get More Info

Chesapeake, VA
(by appointment only)
828 Greenbrier Parkway
Ste 210
Chesapeake, VA 23320

Get More Info

Emporia, VA
(by appointment only)
155 Spring Street
Emporia, VA 23847

GET MORE INFO

Virginia Beach, VA
(by appointment only)
701 Independence Circle
Ste 202
Virginia Beach, VA 23455

Get More Info