The Collins Law Firm, P.C.
Schedule A Free Consultation Today Call: 757-818-9539

Facts about alcohol and underage drinking in Portsmouth


In Portsmouth and throughout the state, there are concerns about teens and the dangers surrounding minor consumption of alcohol. Teens are often caught in instances of underage drinking. There can be numerous reason for this from peer pressure to simply wanting to partake in behaviors that are, legally, meant for adults. While many don't believe that this is a major legal violation, the penalties can be significant and cause teens problems long after the accusations and conviction.

According to Virginia law, it is illegal to try and purchase, to actually purchase or possess alcohol prior to the age of 21. If someone under the age of 21 does purchase or possess alcohol, the person will be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor. With a conviction on this charge, there can be a fine of up to $2,500, a year of imprisonment or 50 hours of community service. There might be all three. The juvenile will also be subject to losing the person's driver's license for up to one year. In addition, the court can order treatment for substance abuse.

Some might be under the impression that they can avoid penalties if the alcohol was purchased for them by someone who is of legal age. This is not the case. If a person buys alcohol and gives it to a person who is under the age of 21, the underage person will face a Class 1 misdemeanor with the penalties of up to a year in jail as well as a fine of up to $2,500. In some cases, teens might use a fake identification that states they are 21 or over and buy alcohol. This too is a Class 1 misdemeanor. There are the above-listed maximum penalties, as well as a minimum penalty of a fine of $500 or 50 hours of community service. The driver's license can be suspended for up to one year as well.

While many teens believe that alcohol is not harmful and its legality for those over 21 makes it the least of evils when it is compared to other possible alternatives such as drugs, the law treats minor consumption of alcohol seriously. When dealing with the juvenile law system for alcohol-related offenses, avoiding these charges is preferable, but lodging a strong defense when charged is a must to keep from having accusations turn into a long-term blot on one's future.

Source: Virginia Office of the Attorney General, "Alcohol and Tobacco," accessed on Jan. 31, 2015

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Contact Us For A Free Consultation Today!

To arrange a free initial consultation with our experienced Virginia lawyers, contact The Collins Law Firm, P.C., at 757-818-9539. You may also complete our online form, and we will be in touch with you shortly.

Contact Us Today

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

The Collins Law Firm, P.C. Call Today: 757-818-9539 Fax: 757-483-6684

Portsmouth, VA
5709 Churchland Blvd., Suite A
Portsmouth, VA 23703

Get More Info

Chesapeake, VA
(by appointment only)
828 Greenbrier Parkway
Ste 210
Chesapeake, VA 23320

Get More Info

Emporia, VA
(by appointment only)
155 Spring Street
Emporia, VA 23847

GET MORE INFO

Virginia Beach, VA
(by appointment only)
701 Independence Circle
Ste 202
Virginia Beach, VA 23455

Get More Info