The Collins Law Firm, P.C.
Free Initial Consultations
local 757-818-9539 toll free 800-483-1156

Drunk Driving Archives

Drunk driving: when one or two becomes four or more

The day began innocently enough. It was a Sunday afternoon in Portsmouth, and you and a few buddies went out to the ball game. A few beers and a few hotdogs later, the game is over and you head over to bar. A couple more rounds are consumed and then you head towards home.

St. Patrick's Day means an increase drunk driving on the roads

Many people throughout the United States, including those from the Portsmouth, Virginia area like to enjoy St. Patrick's Day and celebrate Irish heritage by attending parades, listening to Irish music, eating corned beef and cabbage and going out for some Guinness beers with family and friends. This, however, can also mean an increase of drunk drivers on the roads.

What to expect during DUI traffic stops

One of the most common criminal charges people face is a DUI charge. Under Virginia law, you are not permitted to drive if you have a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher. However, even if your BAC level is under .08, you may still be arrested for a DUI if an officer believes that you are impaired behind the wheel. It is important to know what to expect if you get pulled over for drunk driving.

Penalties for drunk driving in Virginia can be severe

Facing drunk driving charges in Virginia can be overwhelming for many motorists. The Blood Alcohol Concentration limit in all 50 states is .08 percent. This means that you can be charged with a DUI if you were driving with a blood alcohol level of .08 percent or higher. However, you can also be charged if your blood alcohol level is below .08 percent if you are found to be driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Drivers under 21 have an even lower BAC limit of .02 percent and can be charged with a DUI if they exceed that limit.

Virginia law enforcement works to reduce drugged driving

With the legalization of recreational marijuana use in some states, some researchers believe that there have been twice as many fatal pot-related accidents in those states. Virginia authorities have noted that some drivers believe that smoking marijuana before getting behind the wheel helps them drive better. As a result, more and more Virginia drivers are facing DUI arrests for driving while high.

High court rules on breath and blood test refusals in DUI cases

Many DUI cases in the state of Virginia center on the blood alcohol concentration of the driver at the time of the accident or vehicle stop. If an officer suspects that a driver has been drunk driving, he will typically ask the driver to take a test to measure his blood alcohol level. Implied consent laws generally state that a driver automatically consents to a BAC test every time he exercises his driving privileges. Thus, breath test refusal in DUI cases can lead to serious consequences including license suspension and possible jail time.

Virginia Beach officer arrested on DUI charges

The negatives resulting from a drunk driving conviction go beyond legal consequences. When a Virginian is convicted of any crime, particularly driving under the influence, their reputation in the community takes a hit. This is particularly true for highly respected professionals, such as police officers. One Virginia Beach sergeant may face this fate after her recent DUI arrest.